We are pleased to announce the invited speakers for ETC 2021.

John Dabiri

California Institute of Technology, USA

John Dabiri is the Centennial Chair Professor at Caltech, with appointments in the Graduate Aerospace Laboratories (GALCIT) and Mechanical Engineering. His research focuses on unsteady fluid mechanics and flow physics, with particular emphasis on topics relevant to biology, energy, and the environment. Current interests include biological fluid dynamics in the ocean, next-generation wind energy, and development of new experimental methods. Dabiri is a MacArthur Fellow and Fellow of the American Physical Society. Other honors include the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE), the Office of Naval Research Young Investigator Program Award, and being named one of MIT Technology Review's "35 Innovators Under 35" as well as one of Popular Science's "Brilliant 10."

Léonie Canet

University of Grenoble, France

Léonie Canet is a Professor at University Grenoble Alpes and she is a member of the Institut Universitaire de France. She obtained her PhD in 2004 at University Paris 7, and was a post-doctoral fellow at the University of Manchester and at the CEA Saclay for two years, before being recruited as Associate Professor at University Grenoble Alpes. She is a theoretical physicist, working in the field of non-equilibrium statistical physics. She is an expert in field theoretical methods, and in particular in functional and non-perturbative renormalisation group techniques. She was awarded the Bronze medal of CNRS in 2018.

Marc Avila

University of Bremen, Germany

Marc Avila studied Mathematics at the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona and at the University of Glasgow and got his PhD in Applied Physics and Scientific Computing from the Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya in 2008. During his PhD, he was a research scholar at the Arizona State University and subsequently a postdoc at the Max-Planck-Institute for Dynamics and Self-Oorganization. Prior to becoming Professor of fluid mechanics at the University of Bremen, and Director of its Center of Applied Space Technology and Microgravity (ZARM), he was Professor at the University of Erlangen-NürnbergNuremberg. He received the Euromech Young Scientist Award in 2009 and the Richard-von-Mises Prize of the GAMM in 2018.

Massimo Cencini

CNR, Italy

Massimo Cencini received the PhD degree in theoretical physics from University Sapienza, Rome, Italy, in 2000. From 2000 to 2003 he worked as post-doctoral fellow at the Max Planck Institute for the Physics of Complex Systems in Dresden, at Sapienza University and at the Observatory of Nice. He is currently a researcher at the National Research Council (CNR) —Institute for Complex Systems (ISC) in Rome. His research interests include dynamical systems, turbulence, turbulent transport, Lagrangian dynamics of tracers and inertial particles and, more recently, self-propelled particles in fluid flows as models for swimming microorganisms.

Megan Davies Wykes 

University of Cambridge, UK

Dr Megan Davies Wykes is a lecturer in the Engineering Department at the University of Cambridge. Her research spans many areas of fluid mechanics, including stratified turbulent mixing, buoyancy-driven flows, microscale swimmers, and fluid-structure interaction. Dr Davies Wykes’s research into stratified Rayleigh-Taylor instability showed that mixing efficiencies greater than 75% were possible in this configuration. Her research into the fluid structure interaction of dissolving objects showed that shape can be preserved or forgotten, depending on the stability of the flow. Recent research has examined the effect of buoyancy on the cross-ventilation of buildings and the mixing efficiency of open and closed systems. Find more information about her here

Paul Williams

University of Reading, UK

Paul D. Williams is Professor of Atmospheric Science at the University of Reading, UK.  He specialises in analysing, modelling, and forecasting aviation turbulence.  He has published several studies (including a recent Nature paper) showing how climate change could double or treble the volume of severe atmospheric turbulence, causing aircraft flights to become much bumpier in the coming decades.  He has published two books and over 50 peer-reviewed scientific papers in leading journals.  He has held visiting fellowships at the Universities of Cambridge and California.  He is a Fellow of the Institute of Physics, the Royal Meteorological Society, and the Royal Astronomical Society.  He tweets regularly about atmospheric science as @DrPaulDWilliams.

Shervin Bagheri

KTH, Sweden

Shervin Bagheri is a Professor at the Royal Institute of Technology, KTH in Stockholm. He is a Wallenberg Academy Fellow and one of the 20 recipients of the Future Research Leaders grant awarded by the Swedisch Foundation for Strategic Research. His research focuses on using various multiscale, data-driven and/or modal techniques for analyzing and controlling transitional and turbulent wall-bounded flows. 

Xiaojing Zheng

XidianUniversity, China

Dr. Xiaojing Zheng is a Professor of Mechanics at Xidian University, China. Her research interests include high-Reynolds number wall turbulence, particle-turbulence interactions in multi-phase flows, multi-scale modeling and simulations of environmental disasters, such as dust storms, dune fields and wind-blown sand flows. She is the founder of the Qingtu Lake Observation Array (QLOA) which is a unique field facility for scientific research on gas-solid two-phase flows in Atmospheric Surface layer with Re~106-7. She has co-authored more than 200 papers in peer-reviewed journals, and 3 monographs. Currently, she is Academician of the CAS, Academician of The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS), Member of the selection committee of TWAS (Engineering sciences), Members of IUTAM's General Assembly, the Vice-chairman of the China Association for Science and Technology, Vice-president of Chinese Society of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics etc. She is also the Laureate of the National Natural Science Award (twice) and the National Awards for S&T Progress etc.

In partnership with:

Failte Ireland